NS8 User Guides

The NS8 Customer Verification Process

How to use text messages to validate orders.

Why Customer Verification?

A majority of internet fraudsters use bots, or programmed scripts, to make illegitimate purchases from eCommerce merchants. These fraudulent transactions are expensive and time-consuming for merchants. One way to reduce the amount of fraudulent purchases is to introduce a friction step in the process when an order is suspicious. Customer Verification is a valuable tool that uses friction to combat fraudsters.

What Does Customer Verification Do?

By introducing friction to the process of making fraudulent purchases, Customer Verification greatly reduces the chances of approving fraudulent orders. The process requires a customer to verify their order with a secret code that is sent to them via text message. When an order is too suspicious to approve, but not suspicious enough to cancel outright, Customer Verification allows merchants to verify orders that exist in this grey area.

Legitimate customers will have no issue verifying their orders, but the majority of fraudsters will be halted by the introduction of friction in the purchasing process because they are looking for passive victims. Scammers are hesitant to give out their phone number, as this would associate personal information with their nefarious behavior and provide a paper trail of their activity. If NS8 Protect notices a specific phone number is used suspiciously often for Customer Verification, it will block that phone number from future requests. Customer Verification also hinders bots: bots do not have mobile numbers and cannot carry out the required steps.

It is important to note that the EQ8 Score for the order will not be altered by the Customer Verification process.

How Does Customer Verification Work?

An order can be marked for Customer Verification through an Order Rule or initiated manually on the Suspicious Orders screen or Order Review screen.

After the Customer Verification process is triggered, a message is sent from validation@approveyourorder.com to the email address associated with the customer's order. While awaiting Customer Verification, the order will be given a Customer Verification Status of "Email Sent."

When the user receives this email, they have the option to choose between two links. The first link will prompt them to click to confirm their order, while the second will prompt them to click if they did not place the order.

Confirming an Order

When a customer clicks on the link to confirm an order, they will be directed to a screen framed inside your website that prompts them to enter a mobile number, like the sample site below.

After the customer enters a mobile number, they will be redirected to a screen where they will input the verification code. When the customer has received the verification code, but has not yet entered it, the order will be given a Customer Verification Status of "SMS Sent."

Upon successful entry of the verification code, the user will be given a confirmation screen. The customer will also receive an email confirming that their order has been verified.

Within NS8 Protect, the Customer Verification Status field will be updated to "SMS Verified."
The Customer Verification Phone field will display the phone number that the customer used to verify their order. Depending on your configuration in Settings, the order may be automatically approved and its NS8 Order Risk may be altered.

Mistyped Confirmation Code

If a user mistypes the confirmation code, they will be given an error message. The customer can use the back button in their browser or select the "Go Back" button to try again.

Denial of an Order

When a customer clicks on the link to deny an order, they will be directed to a web page framed within your website to reject the order.

If they click on the "I did not place this order" button, they will be given a message letting them know the order has been cancelled and the merchant has been notified.

The order's Customer Verification Status will be updated to "Customer Denied." Depending on your configuration in Settings, the order may be automatically cancelled and its NS8 Risk may be altered.

Automatically Altering Orders with Customer Verification

The behavior of the Customer Verification process is contingent upon NS8 Protect's Settings screen. Depending on your configuration, an order's risk level may be altered based on the outcome of the verification check. Similarly, an order may be automatically approved or denied based on the outcome of the verification check.

If you do not want the Customer Verification process to automatically change an order's risk level or approve/cancel an order, be sure to update your settings accordingly. In the event that NS8 Protect is not configured to automatically approve or cancel orders that have undergone Customer Verification, the merchant will need to manually take action following the Customer Verification process.

The NS8 Customer Verification Process


How to use text messages to validate orders.

Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.